Locksley at Brooklyn Bowl 7/28/10

OMFreakinGod Locksley was so good I can’t put it in words.  They played a celebratory free show last night at the Brooklyn Bowl (honestly the coolest place on earth), and absolutely killed it.  The opener, Jimmy Gnecco was really good, but the music did not match what was coming later, as it was less rock and roll than acoustic Muse.  Everybody went crazy when Locksley took the stage, though, and the band launched into an awesome set playing mainly songs from their new album, Be In Love.

One of the best thing about their shows is that their songs are so easy to rearrange and still come across just as well.  They can just launch into a harmony and worry about the song starting later.  The drummer knows more than one trick to switch any song into another without losing the pacing or the beat.  On top of this, they all sing lead on different songs, so you never know who’ll be taking the mic next, but it doesn’t matter because they all have such similar voices.

Guitarist Kai Kennedy absolutely shreds and adds so much to the music that I can’t express how vital he is to the group.  At one point he was tuning his guitar while singing lead, and it boggles my mind as to how that’s even possible.  The encore was amazing for me personally, seeing as they covered the Strokes’ “Last Nite.”  The solo would have been amazing, but it seemed the guitarist missed it, which saddened me.  Then I realized that he was playing something familiar.  BOOM, they were playing Tom Petty’s “American Girl” and before I knew it they switched back to the Strokes, then back again to Petty and closed the show.  Holy crap that was incredible.

I’m not even kidding when I say that it was probably the best concert I’ve ever seen, and I’ve been to around a hundred I think at this point.  If you don’t see this band you will be missing out on a performance that only comes around once a generation.  I’m pretty sure that the Beatles were the last band to play a show this good…

5/5 Stars

Locksley – 21st Century

Leave a Reply

