BLOWING UP: Ezra Furman & the Harpoons

With Nostradumus-like precision, I will now predict the future of music…

Okay, so I have officially declared today to be Ezra Furman Day.  I think he is one of the best modern songwriters around and want him to succeed 90% more than  any other artists.  He and the Harpoons have released three albums in the last four years, though Beat Beat Beat is more of a showcasing it seems.  I consider Banging Down the Doors in 2007 to be the true start of the bands career, but they eclipsed even that with 2008’s Inside the Human Body, which had a more full-band sound than their earlier work.

The songs Ezra writes are interesting, simple, and catchy.  That’s enough to have a long lifespan in the music industry, but I think the biggest challenge he faces is how people hear his voice.  It’s completely wild and free, and while that’s appealing to people like myself, the sheeple of the world who only listen to Auto-tuned garbage might take offense (that sounded very pretentious, sorry!).  Seriously though, I love his voice and its “I don’t give a shit” attitude, and he wouldn’t be the first artist to get away with it (Dylan, Joplin, etc.).  Remember, persistence is half the battle…

The song below is from their latest album, and I wanted to post it earlier but changed my mind.  So listen and enjoy, because they have an even newer one out later this year, by which time they might have BLOWN UP.

Ezra Furman & the Harpoons – Take Off Your Sunglasses

As per usual, here’s ze myspaces to buy their things!

Leave a Reply

