Perfect Songs: Ezra Furman & the Harpoons – “The Stakes are High”

If one were to believe the teachings of Michael Leyton, that all art is simply a conveyance of outward movement (or “emotions” for those out of the loop), then where would music stand?  My opinion on the matter is that, like art, the best music has the power to move a person without trying.  This is dependent on location, time, previous emotion, and any other factor one can think of as well, but I feel a truly great song can break through no matter what the circumstance…

So I was originally going to have the perfect song be Ezra’s “Take Off Your Sunglasses,” which is also incredible, but this song happened to come on right after it, thereby completely blowing me away.  I had no clue this song was that good until yesterday.  The Dylan-ness is less apparent here than on his other songs, and the lyrics are completely real, as that is what I believe to be his greatest talent.  On top of that, his melody is literally perfect for the progression, and I couldn’t imagine a better way to sing the song myself.

Later today he will be BLOWING UP, but for now just enjoy the beauty of this song.  Please read the words, as no other singer displays so much honesty so very often.

Ezra Furman & the Harpoons – The Stakes are High

As per usual, buy from ze myspaces!

I dove into your heart like a pool
But there was no water in it and I felt like a fool
When I hit the concrete bottom and I broke in two
Ooh oh oh oh oh oh
Walked to the hotel through the door
But the man at the desk said you weren’t staying there no more
And I felt so stupid so sorry that I called you a whore
Ooh oh oh oh oh oh

You were just doin’ what you had to do
And I feel so dumb for bein’ mad at you ooh
I can’t stay mad, I can’t stay mad at you
I can’t stay mad, I can’t stay mad at you
My heart is full I’ve got no room, no room

I grew up with my family
But I didn’t not want to leave and I cried like a baby
I asked, “Could I ever come back home?” and my Dad said “Maybe…”
ooh oh oh oh oh oh
So I found a new place to live
But I had trouble figuring out what’s not real and what is
The big city was so crazy I could hardly even breathe
Ooh oh oh oh oh oh

And now I’m living in a fantasy
And I will always live there probably ooh
You could move in, you could move in with me
You could move in, you could move in with me
The stakes are high, the trees are green okay!

We’re all just doin’ what we have to do
Nothin’ will ever be like it was back in 1992 no-o
And I can’t stay mad, I can’t stay mad at you
I can’t stay mad, I can’t stay mad at you
My heart’s real full but I’ll make room, I’ll make room
I’ll make room, I’ll make room oh-ho
Okay well, woh-oh!Woh-oh!Woh-oh!Ooh!
I got tell you that the stakes are high
and the stakes are high, the trees are green
and don’t be mean and don’t be mean n-n-n-n-n-no!
Woh-oh!Woh-oh!Woh! Hey! 1,2,3,4!

Leave a Reply

