BLOWING UP: Two Door Cinema Club

Two Door Cinema Club is a band from Ireland Wales somewhere in Europe, and they play some solid indie rock that’s littered with electronic elements.  Try to figure out how that sounds on your own… Or better yet, just listen to the band down below…

Putting classifications on their music can sometimes be difficult though, as their songs tend to bend toward whatever whim they’re following at the moment.  I’ll be honest and say that I didn’t like their debut album, Tourist History, that much upon first listen.  Forcing myself to hear it a few more times made all the difference though, and I can now say with confidence that I like this band

The factor that made all the difference to me was the order of songs on the album.  I’ll say time and time again that track listing is crucial to a band making any sort of impact in today’s music scene.  Going by my own rule (how hoity-toity!), I think the track listing on Tourist History is a bit misleading to the listener.  The first few songs all have more of an electronic vibe to them, and being that the singles thus far have been closer to guitar rock, it makes for a confusing first listen.  Not only this, but I believe the best songs on the album to be the last four.  I’m not sure that this isn’t just me, so form your own opinion and I’ll just be a helpful guide…

When all is said and done though, TDCC is going to get much bigger.  Their songs are all incredibly catchy and beg to be sung along to.  The clever lyrics do wonders to aid fans in this task, and now the band has started to cross over into the US after conquering their homeland.  I wouldn’t be surprised to find a few car commercials soundtracked by “Eat That Up, It’s Good For You” or “Undercover Martyn” in the near future.  Look for the band playing this week during CMJ and on tour throughout the US afterwards.  They put out a solid album and deserve your attention…

Two Door Cinema Club – Eat That Up, It’s Good for You

Ze myspaces lets you buy goods and services…

10 responses to “BLOWING UP: Two Door Cinema Club

  1. finestcreativity

    this band is seriously my new love!!!! they are great 🙂

  2. hi. just to say that they aren’t irish. they’re from wales. great song though.

  3. They are Irish, they’re from County Down.

  4. Actually they’re from County Down in Northern Ireland
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Two_Door_Cinema_Club

  5. Totally agree with you about the track listing. I’ve bastardized the album and put it in my own order and think it works much better now. Very good band though and really fun live.

  6. Seen them twice live in Austin, TX and they are every bit as good and better live as is their music. Look for them to keep making noise and blowing up soon.

  7. They are Irish! They’re from Bangor in Northern Ireland! Not a Welsh bone in their bodies!

  8. Jeez. Stop with the nationality arguments!

    This band rocks hands down and Eat That Up, It’s Good For You is a super sick awesome track! I’ve been a fan of these guys from the start. I’m so looking forward to hearing them live.

  9. EXCLUSIVE MUSIC!!! Check out this up and coming group!!! http://www.youtube.com/TreEliteSD

Leave a Reply

