Blowing Up: Adam Taylor

I haven’t felt this way in a while; nothing is as good as what occurs between that first moment of discovery, the doubt when the next song kicks in, and finally the utter disbelief of what I’m hearing. I might have last experienced these sentiments when I discovered Telekinesis, but I don’t think it’s happened since.  This is what happens when I fall in love with a new musician (not that there’s anything wrong with that), and I’d like to share him with you.  Sure, I’ve found a bunch of bands I think are great between last year and now, but Adam Taylor has hit the sweet spot. He makes the music I wish I was making, and I’m infinitely envious of that fact…

The worst part is that No Poet is his second release, as he has another EP, Play the Piano Drunk, that came out in 2008.  I have now missed about three years of being this musician’s advocator and fan.  Alas, some opportunities shall always be lost in one’s life, so it’s best to focus on the now. Adam Taylor, in the now, is a great songwriter who occupies a mainly (folk) rock domain. There’s more to it though, as his songs have a dash of cabaret to them, which he pairs perfectly with an amazing pop sensibility. Taylor reminds me of a mix between Jason Collett, Rufus Wainwright, and Adam Levine (in a good way); his voice is smooth as butter and he has a definite love of blue notes.

I know I’m gushing over this EP a tad too, but I can’t help it.  It’s so immediately impressive and just sounds ‘classic’ upon first listen.  There are references to the 50’s and 60’s, with background ‘girl group’ vocals and classic chord progressions to boot, but it all ties together into a nice modern package.  Please listen to this immediately, and I swear you won’t be disappointed.

LISTEN HERE and HERE

P.S. – OH MY GOD HE COVERS THE STROKES ON PLAY THE PIANO DRUNK.  IT’S SO GOOD!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

