Max Bemis and the Painful Splits – “Former Punisher Gone Rogue”

I will never not like Max Bemis.  As I put the finishing touches on a longer Say Anything article, I wanted to touch on this side project which features the man himself and his solo acoustic longings.  They sound like Say Anything songs, except they’re a bit more on the emo-folk side of the ball park.  While this is an area I was hoping Bemis would start to move away from, I have no problem letting this be his output for sadder thoughts if it means Say Anything gets the angrier and faster side of his ambitions.  Let’s hope…

Max Bemis and the Painful Splits already have two albums out, and this song is one I prefer to the more hyped “Do the Dohnk.”  It’s not as immediate, but the lyrics are utterly fantastic and I enjoy how it turns almost happy with the chorus. Maybe I’m wrong, but “Former Punisher Gone Rogue” seems to mark the beginning of Bemis embarking in a musical direction that coud be more easily enjoyed by an audience beyond their teenage years.  My god, it almost sounds indie

Max Bemis and the Painful Splits – Former Punisher Gone Rogue

Leave a Reply

