Spy Island – New Milesian Kings

NEW MILESIAN KINGS Cover Art

Spy Island are a Portland band and this is apparently their third album, so I’m a tad late to the party.  While the hipster part of me is disappointed in itself, the mainstream part is happy to have found a new band it likes.

The group sounds like a lo-fi 90’s band and for some weird reason reminds me of early Beck with keyboards contributed by the Aquabats.  Don’t ask me why.  There seems to be some vocal cues from Stephen Malkmus in there too, and that’s something always welcome in my book.  My favorite track is by far “Th e Punchline.”  It’s also the rockiest in the batch.  Take a listen below and get hooked!

NEW MILESIAN KINGS by SPY ISLAND

Leave a Reply

